sherri's sense of tumor blog

Kosher Pickles

Posted on: July 26, 2011

Small towns can bring surprises. I sometimes forget that. We were discussing the process of making Kosher Dills, me with great animation because I love the sharp bite of them. I failed to notice the other person drawing back, being very serious.

I finally stopped talking, and the other person said slowly. ‘I don’t know. Don’t Jews eat them?’

To see me without words is a rare event. It happened right then. There were many things I wanted to say, so many things. Those cold eyes left me silent and frustrated. I was surprised at my reaction. I always thought of myself as someone with a quick answer, but not that day.

I want to make it clear here. Kosher Pickles are made by a process. That’s it. Wish I had thought to say THAT when I had to opportunity.

2 Responses to "Kosher Pickles"

Sherri, that sounds like a small town story for sure! 🙂 Oh my…

You made us both laugh out loud this morning! I would have given anything to see the look on your face, and your mouth hanging open, while you searched for words, or even the capacity to take in what you had just heard. Priceless! Thanks for sharing the small town moment with us.

Leave a Reply

